Series 63 Exam Information

Series 63 Exam Overview & FAQs

The Uniform Securities Agent State Law (Series 63) Exam

Created in 1979, the Series 63 exam was designed to ensure salespersons understand their registration requirements and abide by ethical practices. The Series 63 exam is administered by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) for the North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA), and required by most state securities regulators.

Topics include: securities regulation and ethical practices.

Series 63 Exam Difficulty Level

Although it is comparatively shorter than other tests, the content and language used on the Series 63 is different from a FINRA exam, and it requires strong reading comprehension. It’s recommended that students learn through a variety of methods, such as reading, as well as continuous practice exams. But with Pass Perfect’s proven preparation methods, you’ll be guaranteed to pass the first time. Our comprehensive learning platform is designed to get you through the test on the first attempt since failure requires a 30-day wait period.

After the Series 63

For current and potential Registered Representatives, Financial Advisers, Financial Consultants, and Registered Associates, the Series 63 exam is a great way to further your career. Series 63 is not a prerequisite for any other securities test.

Series 63 FAQ

How long do I need to study for the Series 63 Exam?

When preparing to take the Series 63 exam, you should plan to study for 30-35 hours. Typically, candidates study over the course of 1-2 weeks. The time you need to spend preparing for the exam varies depending on your familiarity with the material. Our adaptive preparation provides extra help where needed to make sure you spend your study time wisely and take the test with confidence.

How much time do I have on the Series 63 exam?

You will have 1 Hour and 15 Minutes to complete the Series 63 exam.

How many Series 63 questions are on the exam?

The Series 63 exam consists of 60 multiple choice questions.

What is the passing score for the Series 63 exam?

The minimum passing score for the Series 63 exam is 72%.

What is the Series 63 pass rate?

The Series 63 exam has approximately a 70-75% pass rate.

Is the Series 63 harder than the SIE?

It is very different. The Series 63 exam is very legalistic and requires students to read each question very carefully. Students often find there is little time to review questions post completion.

How do I register for the Series 63 exam?

Visit to enroll for the Series 63 exam. The exam fee is $135, and there is no firm sponsorship required.

What happens if I fail the Series 63?

After the first or second time a candidate fails the Series 63, there is a mandatory 30-day waiting period before they can take the exam again. After the third (and subsequent) fails, the waiting period increases to 6 months. The $135 exam fee applies each time they take the exam.

How many times can I take the Series 63 exam?

You may take the Series 63 exam as many times as it takes to pass. Note there is a 30-day waiting period after your first and second failed attempt, and a 6-month waiting period after the third failed attempt and beyond.

What do I bring to take the Series 63 exam?

You cannot bring in anything with you to take the Series 63 exam. No pen, pencil, calculator, cell phone, smart watch, or paper. Everything is prohibited.

Can I use a calculator on the Series 63 exam?

Yes, the testing center will provide students with a calculator, if needed.

Are there prerequisites for the Series 63?

There are no prerequisites for Series 63.

Can I take the Series 63 before the SIE?


Who can take the Series 63?

Anyone can take the Series 63 — no sponsorship from a NASAA member firm is required.

What can I do after passing the Series 63 exam?

After passing the Series 63 exam, you can seek employment with a member firm.

How long is the Series 63 exam good for?

The Series 63 exam does not expire unless you leave the employ of the member firm. There is a 2-year grace period — after the 2-year employment lapse, retesting is required.